Photo by Miti on Unsplash

Getting rid of and letting go.

Karine Sabatier
3 min readOct 31, 2020

I am currently emptying my house before moving out (hopefully). You know how it goes, the bigger the space the more clutter. I have a big house and 3 annexes to rid of toys, tools, bikes, books and all the stuff a family of 4 can amass.

That ‘throw it all’ process started in a really painful way. For the first week I couldn’t decide what to let go of, what to keep. Yet deep inside of me, I wanted to ditch everything and move on. So I hated myself for feeling those contradictory feelings. This is f*cking good therapy.

Then I tried the Marie Kondō shit: hold the stuff, bring it to your heart and see if it sparkles joy. It actually did bring me comfort every single time I tried it. But my personal take in life is that comfort is bad. What I needed there was not a small step outside my comfort zone, I needed a base jump way out of my comfort zone.

So I tried something else, something I do a lot at work: ask myself the right questions to understand my own reluctance. What is this object really about? Is it purely useful? indispensable? or does it have an emotional attachment? if so, of what kind? and the question that solves it all: what do I fear about letting that thing go? Once again it all comes down to fear.

Through that process I came to realize that

  • I am not attached to things, I am…

--

--

Karine Sabatier

I don't use AI to write about my Product Management and Product Design expertise.